Posts Tagged 'sports'

Screech Owls Series by Ray MacGregor

The Night They Stole the Stanley Cup and Mystery at Lake Placid. By Roy MacGregor. Tundra Books, 2013. 176 pages and 272 pages, respectively.  $8.95

They Shoot! They Score! The Screech Owls are back in full force in this reissue of the popular Canadian hockey series. Authored by award-winning hockey writer Roy MacGregor, these books are spot on accurate with the thrills, chills and checks of youth hockey.  Add in a solid mystery and there’s no doubt, these books will be hits with a new audience.  Notable is the inclusion of girls who are offer exemplary skills and sportsmanship. Having noted this forward step in gender equity, I was puzzled by the boys’ attempts to view adult movies while at the hotel and the comparison of the hockey rink markings to female anatomy. This female hockey fan is not amused by boorish “boys will be boys” behavior. Maybe those changes will be in the next reissue. Suitable for sports fans in 4th to 7th grades.

Advertisements

Unstoppable by Tim Green

Unstoppable. By Tim Green. HarperCollins Children’s Books, 2012/ 352 pages. $16.99
It’s all about luck; some people have it and some don’t, and Harrison definitely doesn’t. When Harrison rebels against the abuse in his foster home, he fears things will get even worse. But it all turns around when he goes to live with the Kelly’s. Not only do the Kelly’s desperately want a child, Coach Kelly’s football team can use a player of Harrison’s size and strength. A routine doctor’s visit leads to a life-threatening diagnosis for Harrison. Major Bauer arrives at the Kelly’s to supervise Harrison’s rehab and in the process, restores his hope. Not only is Harrison unstoppable, so is Tim Green, as he offers another winner to his middle grade readers. Suitable for readers in 4th to 7th grades.

STAT #1: Home Court by Amar’e Stoudemire

STAT #1: Home Court by Amar’e Stoudemire/ Scholastic, Inc., 2012. 144 pages. $17.99 HC/$5.99 PB
New York Knick’s captain, Amar’e Stoudemire, in addition to being devoted to basketball, is on a mission to get kids to read. More than just hype, he has authored a credible entry in the sports series genre. The series is “STAT,” an acronym for “Standing Tall and Talented,” and that is an apt description for the hero Amar’e. Loosely autobiographical, Amar’e works hard at school, helps his dad with his landscaping business, practices skateboarding moves, and plays basketball with his friends. When bullies threaten to monopolize the local court, Amar’e uses both his physical and mental abilities to lead his team. This is the perfect time for fans of Rondi and Tiki Barber books to switch to basketball. Suitable for 3rd to 5th grade readers.


RSS Feed

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Advertisements

%d bloggers like this: