STAT #1: Home Court by Amar’e Stoudemire

STAT #1: Home Court by Amar’e Stoudemire/ Scholastic, Inc., 2012. 144 pages. $17.99 HC/$5.99 PB
New York Knick’s captain, Amar’e Stoudemire, in addition to being devoted to basketball, is on a mission to get kids to read. More than just hype, he has authored a credible entry in the sports series genre. The series is “STAT,” an acronym for “Standing Tall and Talented,” and that is an apt description for the hero Amar’e. Loosely autobiographical, Amar’e works hard at school, helps his dad with his landscaping business, practices skateboarding moves, and plays basketball with his friends. When bullies threaten to monopolize the local court, Amar’e uses both his physical and mental abilities to lead his team. This is the perfect time for fans of Rondi and Tiki Barber books to switch to basketball. Suitable for 3rd to 5th grade readers.

Advertisements

0 Responses to “STAT #1: Home Court by Amar’e Stoudemire”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s




RSS Feed

Goodreads

Twitter Updates

Advertisements

%d bloggers like this: