Son by Lois Lowry

Son. By Lois Lowry. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012. 400 pages. $17.99
Readers of Lois Lowry’s The Giver, Gathering Blue, and The Messenger will be delighted by the completion of the quartet. Here, the stories of Claire, Jonas, Gabriel, and Kira come together in a most satisfying conclusion. Son is divided into three books – Before, Between, and Beyond. In Before, we learn about Claire’s experience as a vessel, or birthmother. In Between, we discover what happened to Claire in the chaos that resulted in The Giver when Jonas escaped with the baby, Gabriel. In Beyond, Gabe’s special talents are needed to destroy an evil one known as Trademaster in order to restore safety and calm to the community. Readers will enjoy reconnecting with familiar characters and storylines. Lowry’s position as a master storyteller is secure. Suitable for readers in 5th – 8th grades.

0 Responses to “Son by Lois Lowry”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

%d bloggers like this: